Hello Kitty Goody Bags!

5 Dec

My little cousin Haidyn is turning 6 tomorrow!  Sadly, she wants to have her ‘Hello Kitty’ themed birthday party at Burger King (again) instead of our house, so I had to keep all my Hello Kitty decorating ideas in my head.  I did, however, convince Haidyn to let me make the goody bags, and I found the idea for them on Pinterest!  Pinterest is an online inspiration board where you can search and “pin” all your interests, including fashion, recipes, weddings, and decorating ideas!  To learn how to make these adorable Hello Kitty goody bags and for more pictures, keep reading!

Step 1: Trace/cut out the bow, eyes, and nose!

Instead of using a pattern, I freehanded the bow on a piece of construction paper, cut it out, and traced it to make the rest of the bows. (Red for girls, blue for boys!)  After I cut them out I put them to the side and did the same for the eyes and the nose. 

Step 2: Paint the borders and apply glitter!

Instead of a plain black border, I decided to add some sparkle and used glitter!  For the bows and the yellow nose, paint along the edge of the pattern and quickly add the glitter.  For the bow, its best to paint half, add the glitter, and then let it sit for about 5 minutes before you do the other side.  For the nose, I painted the outline, layed it down, and then poured the glitter on top. Since the eyes were small, I painted the entire thing with the black paint and again covered it with glitter!

***If possible, I HIGHLY suggest using paint with glitter already in it.  Doing it seperatly provided a huge mess, and it doesn’t stick as nicely as I would have liked.***

Step 3: Trim the whiskers!

I decided to use black pipe cleaners for the whiskers, but construction paper could also work well.  My whiskers were a little less than three inches long, but you can shorten or lengthen them to your own liking.

Step 4: Assemble the bag!

I assembled everything on the bag using Glue Dots. (If you haven’t used Glue Dots in the past, you need to buy some before your next arts and crafts project!  They work great and they don’t leave a mess!)

I started out with the nose, which I placed just about 2″ up from the bottom of the bag.  I did the eyes a little less than an inch above the nose, and spaced them about three inches apart.  The bow I left pretty close to the eye and liked how it was tilted and hanging off the page.  Lastly, I attached the whiskers using a hot glue gun, and kept them close together, lined up horizontally with the nose.

Step 5: Add tissue paper and stuff the goody bags!

I decided to add the paper because it gave them an extra pop of color, but that again is totally up to your taste.  I filled Haidyn’s good bags with small things I picked up at the dollar store like pencils, erasers, pops, Smarties, crayon candy canes, wacky straws, princess note pads, and Hello Kitty pens.  I filled the boy’s bags with the same things but instead of the princess note pads and Hello Kitty pens, I added a Car’s pen!  Does anyone have any other suggestions on what to stuff goody bags with?!

Haidyn’s Hello Kitty 6th birthday party is on Tuesday and I can’t wait to see her and her friends reactions to the bags!  I will keep everyone posted!

4 Responses to “Hello Kitty Goody Bags!”

  1. Cathy December 5, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    What a great blog! Can’t wait to see more creative party ideas!!

    • kenseymarsland December 5, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      Thank you so much Aunt Cathy!! Thank you for checking it out!!

  2. Misha July 25, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    My little girl is SO excited to be having these at her birthday party! Thank you!!!! Great idea!

    • kenseymarsland July 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      Hi Misha, thank you I am so happy to hear that! I hope everyone likes them and your daughter has a happy birthday! Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

